The history of Ladurée began in 1862 when Louis Ernest Ladurée opened a bakery at 16 rue Royale in Paris. The quarter around the Place de la Madeleine developed rapidly during these years and became the centre of the city's business and social life. On the recommendation of his wife Louis Ernest, he developed the bakery into one of the first tea shops in the city, which quickly became popular with the ladies of society as a meeting place for friends. A few decades later, Louis Ernest's heir, Pierre Defonten, created the iconic dessert Ladurée - Macaron in its modern form. He was the first to have the idea of combining the two halves of almond biscuits with ganache cream. Since then the Macarons have been the main pride of Ladurée.